7th Pay Commission committee members profile

Justice Shri Ashok Kumar Mathur, Chairman

Justice Shri Ashok Kumar Mathur, M.A.,L.L.B was enrolled as an Advocate of the Rajasthan High Court in 1967. In 1969 Justice Mathur was appointed as Assistant Government Advocate and promoted to Deputy Government Advocate before becoming Government Advocate of Jodhpur in 1977 and Additional Advocate General in 1981. In 1985 Justice Mathur was appointed as Additional Judge and a year later as permanent Judge of the Rajasthan High Court. In 1994 Justice Mathur joined the Madhya Pradesh High Court and went on to become its Chief Justice in 1996 before assuming the charge of Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court in 1999. In 2004 Justice Mathur was elevated as Judge, Supreme Court of India where he served for four years before retiring in August 2008. From September 2008 till Aug 2013 he served as the First Chairperson of the Armed Forces Tribunal, Principal Bench. He has extensively travelled to many Countries and participated in several Conferences and Seminars held in USA, UK, France, Canada, Italy, Switzerland, Belgium South Africa, Netherlands, Thailand, Singapore and other countries.

Shri Vivek Rae, Member

Shri Vivek Rae joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1978 and served as Deputy Commissioner in the state of Arunachal Pradesh from 1985 to 1988 before being posted at the Prime Minister's Office in 1989. From 1991 to 1995, Shri Rae was Assistant Resident Representative with the United National Development Programme, New Delhi before proceeding to the State of Goa as Commissioner and Secretary (Finance and Planning). In 1999 he returned to National Capital Territory of Delhi where he served as Secretary (Planning) until 2001. Shri Rae subsequently joined as Joint Secretary (Plan Finance) in the Ministry of Finance, Government of India and served there from 2002 to 2006. From 2008 to 2010, Shri Rae was appointed as Chief Secretary of Andaman & Nicobar Islands and thereafter as Director General (Acquisition) in the Ministry of Defence until 2012. Shri Rae was briefly posted as Secretary, M/O Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises and subsequently as Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas in 2013. Shri Rae, who superannuated in February, 2014, has a Bachelor of Arts (Hons.) Degree in Economics from St. Stephen's College, University of Delhi and Masters Degree in Economics and Politics from New College, University of Oxford. During his career Shri Rae has acquired wide ranging experience cutting across social and economic sectors, including planning, finance, energy and security issues.

Dr. Rathin Roy, Member

Dr. Rathin Roy took charge as Director NIPFP in May 2013. Prior to joining NIPFP, he has been the Director of Asia Pacific Regional Centre, UNDP, Bangkok, and the Director, International Policy Centre for Inclusive Growth (IPC-IG), UNDP, Brazil. He has also served as the Public Resource Management Advisor, and the Acting Cluster Leader, Inclusive Development, in the Poverty Practice, Bureau for Development Policy (BDP), UNDP. On invitation from the Government of India, he also served as the Economic Advisor to the Thirteenth Finance Commission, a Constitutional body of the Government of India. He has worked in over 80 countries during and prior to his tenure with UNDP, and is a well known figure in the world of applied macroeconomic and fiscal policy.He holds a PhD in Economics and an MPhil from the University of Cambridge, UK. Post-PhD, he was tenured in the Economics Faculty at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, and an Economist with the Institute for Development Policy and Management, University of Manchester.

Smt. Meena Agarwal, Secretary

Smt. Meena Agarwal is an officer of the Indian Railway Accounts Service, of the 1981 batch. She has served in the Indian Railways for over two decades in various capacities, including handling of the Budget Division of the Ministry of Railways for six years. Thereafter, for seven years she has been with the Ministry of Finance, as Joint Secretary, Department of Expenditure for five years and OSD, heading the newly formed Public Procurement Division for two years. She worked as Chief Finance Officer of the Centre for Development of Telematics [C-DOT] on secondment. Prior to joining the Railways she also worked as Procurement Officer in a central PSU for several years. She has a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering (Electronics) from IIT, Chennai and a Post Graduate Diploma in Management from IIM, Kolkata.

Add new comment


Enter your email address to Subscribe for 7th CPC Latest Updates:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Activation email will be sent immediately to you. Don't forget to click the activation link.




About Us

One stop news and information website for Latest News and Updates for PSU employees, central Government employees, Seventh Pay Commission 7th CPC.